THS Class Of ‘64 Celebrates 50th Class Reunion


The Sophronia M. Tompkins High School Class of 1964 celebrated their 50th graduation anniversary June 19-22, 2014. All activities were in Pooler and Savannah and included a “Meet & Greet” session, a banquet and a dance at the Ramada Inn in Pooler, a picnic at the Tom Triplett Park in Pooler and worship Service and dinner in Savannah at the Temple of Glory Community Church sanctuary and the church’s banquet facility, the Eden Room.

Food for the banquet and picnic was provided by Shannon Adams of Quiky’s Catering; DJ James Faggins provided music on Thursday and Saturday. The Wolverines and guests danced and swayed to the fabulous sounds of the Macon

GA based “Danger Zone Band” into the wee hours of Saturday morning.

The picnic on Saturday allowed ’64ers and friends to show up and show out. DJ James Faggins played the kind of music that had the resident ducks doing the Wobble! Sunday was truly a time of Praise and Thanksgiving for 50 years of love, friendship and Blessings. Bishop Matthew Odom ministered to the congregation from the 33rd Chapter of Genesis, thanked THE CLASS for worshiping with his church family and prayed that we see many more years as fellow Wolverines. ‘

Phyllis Davis Loyd, Class Treasurer, confirmed that 63 class members registered for the reunion. Each activity included additional guests, family members and friends. Former faculty at the dance included Mrs. Jessie C. Deloach, Mrs. Dorothy W. Speed and Mrs. Dorothy Wilson. Also in attendance were City of Savannah Council member Mrs. Mary Osborne, former City Council member and Mrs. Clifton Jones and current Chatham County Commissioner and Mrs. James J. Holmes.

The Class of ‘64 recognized six of their “Special Classmates” with plaques making each of them official THS Class of ‘64 members. The special recognition was to show appreciation for the “Special Classmates” having sacrificed their senior year at THS to attend and graduate from R.W. Groves High School as a part of the 1964 Chatham County school desegregation effort. Plaques were presented to Sadie Mae Simmons Brown, Deloris Cooper, George Shinhoster, Floria Ann Goldwire Sims. Sage Brown and Sarah Townsend were not able to attend . The presentation were made by classmate Shirley Miller Gamble. Charles Coleman was the official photographer.

The 50th Class Reunion Committee Members are Donnell Baker, Lugenia G. Clark, Shirley M. Gamble, Phyllis D. Loyd, Joyce D. Manker, Beverly C. Orr, Jacqueline M. Seymore, Frederica B. Wiggins.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.