The State Bar of Georgia Presents The 18th Annual Community Service Awards


The 18th Annual Justice Robert Benham Awards for Community Service will be presented on Tuesday, Feb. 28. Since 1998, these awards have been presented to honor lawyers and judges in Georgia who have made significant contributions to their communities and demonstrate the positive contributions of members of the Bar beyond their legal or official work.

The Lifetime Achievement Award is the highest recognition given by the State Bar of Georgia and the Chief Justice’s Commission on Professionalism, co-sponsors of the Justice Robert Benham Awards for Community Service. This year, the Lifetime Achievement Award will be presented to: Neal W. Dickert of Hull Barrett P.C. in Augusta; Alcovy Judicial Circuit Superior Court Judge Horace J. Johnson Jr. of Covington; and Former State Sen. Leroy R. Johnson of Atlanta.

The Lifetime Achievement Award is reserved for a lawyer or judge who has demonstrated an extraordinarily long and distinguished commitment to volunteer participation in the community throughout his or her legal career.

Awards are given to selected attorneys in the judicial districts of Georgia from which nominations were received. This year’s other recipients are: Denise M. Cooper of the Savannah City Attorney’s Office; Karen Baynes-Dunning of Albany; Erikka B. Williams of Bonaire, with the Houston Judicial Circuit District Attorney’s Office; Dawn M. Jones of the Firm of Dawn M. Jones LLC in Atlanta; Jeffrey Y. Lewis of Arnall Golden Gregory LLP in Atlanta; W. Scott Sorrels of Sutherland Asbill & Brennan LLP in Atlanta; and J. Virgil Costley Jr. of Georgia

Piedmont Technical College in Covington

These honorees have served a wide range of community organizations, government-sponsored activities, and humanitarian efforts outside of their professional practices and judicial duties. All honorees are members of the State Bar of Georgia.

The Awards Presentation is scheduled for Tuesday, Feb. 28, from 6 to 8 p.m. at the State Bar of Georgia Headquarters, 104 Marietta St. NW, Third Floor, Atlanta, and a reception will follow. Awards will be presented by Georgia Supreme Court Justice Robert Benham. Chief Justice Harris Hines and State Bar President Patrick T. O’Connor will bring special remarks, and Bill Liss, Business Editor with WXIA-TV News in Atlanta, will join in the ceremony. The program is free and open to the public, but registration by February 24, 2017 is required.

For more information and to register, contact: Nneka Harris-Daniel, Chief Justice’s Commission on Professionalism at (404) 225-5040.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.