The Martin Luther King, Jr. Observance Day Association, Inc. Kicks Off 2017 Celebration


The Martin Luter King, Jr. Observance Day Association will kick off the 2017 celebration with the presentation of the honorees on Sunday, December 11, 2016 at 5p.m. In the King Frazier Ballroom of Savannah State University. The Board of the Martin Luther King Jr. Observance Day Association, Inc. cordially invites you, our sponsors, supporters, and friends to attend the MLK Annual Reception as we pay tribute and celebrate our 2017 Honorees’ great achievements. The 2017 Parade Marshals are: Prophetess Hazel Scott, a retired Savannah-Chatham County School educator, pastor, an outstanding Gospel Singer and Radio Host and a great community activist. Our second Marshal is the Hon. Van R. Johnson, II, Alderman, District 1.

He was elected as the representative his District on November 4, 2003. He was selected by his peers to serve as Vice Chair of the Savannah Council. Alderman Johnson was re-elected, November 12, 2011 and served as Mayor Pro-Tem. He was re-elected for a third term on November 4, 2016. Our Civil Rights Activist is: Mrs. Shirley Miller Gamble,

a retiree of Savannah State University, an ardent church leader at Second Saint John Baptist Church and a community activist. Mrs. Gamble became a Civil Rights Activist at the age of 16 under the leadership of the late Rev. Hosea Williams and the Crusade for Voters. Her involvement in the movement continued throughout her high school years. She was arrested three times with the last being in 1963, ending with her being jailed for eight days. She was away from school so much that her 3.8 GPA fell to 3.1 by the time she graduated in 1964.

Our 2017 Theme is: “: A Legacy Never Forgotten, Peace and Love Will Thrive On”

Our Theme Winners are: 1st Place Winner – Lepairea Harper – Derenne Middle School – 7th Grade 2nd Place Winner – Kaelyn Etherton – Garrison School of Visual & Performing Arts – 8th Grade 3rd Place Winner – Patrick Batiste – Hodge Elementary School – 4th Grade

For additional information please call the Association’s office at 912.234.5502 or the President’s office 912.341.0042.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.