STC Honors The 2014 Instructor Of The Year

Lahoma Patton
Lahoma Patton

Lahoma Patton has been selected as the Savannah Technical College 2014 Instructor of the Year and is the College’s Rick Perkins Award winner. The Rick Perkins Award for Excellence in Technical Instruction honors outstanding faculty members at each of the Technical College System of Georgia institutions. Patton will represent Savannah Technical College in regional and statewide events.

Patton has been teaching at Savannah Tech since 2007 and also coordinates student clinical experiences with area hospitals and EMS agencies. She serves as an advisor for the campus EMS club. Patton has been practicing emergency medicine locally for more than a decade, having worked with Beaufort County EMS, Med- StarOne, and Bryan County EMS/Fire. She also proudly served as a volunteer with Pooler Fire Department. Patton is an Affiliate Faculty member of the American Heart Training Center and a lifetime member of Swansboro (NC) Volunteer EMS/ Rescue Squad. She holds EMS certifications from Coastal Community College (1991) and Craven Community College (1993). Additionally, she earned a Paramedic Technology Certificate from Lenoir Community College (1999) and an Associate of Applied Science Degree in Business Management from Savannah Technical College (2011). Patton is currently studying International Business at Columbia College and expects to graduate in December


The award has been an ongoing statewide event since 1991 and is designed to recognize technical college instructors who make significant contributions to technical education through innovation and leadership in their fields. Formerly known as the Commissioner’s Award of Excellence, the Rick Perkins Award was renamed in memory and honor of Thomas “Rick” Perkins, an instructor at West Central Technical College, now West Georgia Technical College, who received the Commissioner’s Award of Excellence prior to his untimely death. The Technical College System of Georgia (TCSG) provides oversight for the Rick Perkins Award program through the System Office’s programming staff, the presidents’ Academic Improvement committee and the state planning committee.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.