SSU Seeks Nominations for Awards to be Presented at Founders’ Day Observance

Savannah State University is seeking nominations for the Richard R. Wright Award of Excellence and the Cyrus G. Wiley Distinguished Alumnus Award, both of which will be presented during the Founders’ Day observance on Nov. 23 at 6 p.m. in Tiger Arena.

The awards are named in honor of the first and second presidents, respectively, of Savannah State.

Established in 1972, the Richard R. Wright Award is the university’s highest honor and recognizes corporate and community citizens, alumni and outstanding leaders who have distinguished themselves through their contributions in the social, educational and civic arenas. Individuals who have addressed public needs and human conditions through scholarly means and innovative approaches are eligible for consideration.

Established in 1974, the Cyrus G. Wiley Award recognizes outstanding alumni who have shown extraordinary support and loyalty to Savannah State, and who have become exemplary examples of the lofty ideals espoused by the university.

The award extols the achievements and contributions such distinguished alumni have made nationally, regionally and locally.

Award nominees must be graduates or former students of the university who are actively involved in community affairs as well as working to improve the university by motivating others to give moral and financial support. Nominations will be accepted from SSU National Alumni Association members, university employees, former students and other friends of the university.

Nomination forms guidelines for submission of nomination packets are available on the university Web site:

Nominations for the Richard R. Wright Award should be submitted to the Office of the President while the University Advancement Office will accept nominations for the Cyrus G. Wiley Award. Nomination packets for both awards are due by 5 p.m. on Nov. 9.

Established in 1890, Savannah State University is on the move to become the best value-added university in the nation. The university’s approximately 3,800 students are enrolled in 23 undergraduate degree majors and five graduate programs in three colleges: Liberal Arts and Social Sciences, Business Administration and Sciences and Technology.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.