Sports with Walter Moore


Curtis Named AD
At Shaw

Jacques Curtis has been named athletics director at Division II Shaw University.Curtis, a graduate of Benedictine and Savannah State, succeeds Alfonza Carter who was reassigned to another position at Shaw. During his tenure as head women’s basketball coach at Shaw, Curtis’ teams accumulated a 194-82 record and won four consecutive CIAA titles (2003 to 2006), as well as the 2008 title. Curtis was named coach of the Lady Bears in 2000. Prior to that, he served as an assistant coach at Shaw, before being named the head men’s basketball coach of his alma mater, SSU in 1998, amassing a 20-34 record in two seasons.

SSU Players Excel
In Classroom

Savannah State sophomore baseball players Courtrevez McTier and Brandon Webster have been named to the 2009 Independent Baseball All-Academic Team. McTier, a pitcher, carries a 3.70 grade point average while majoring in criminal justice and Webster, a first baseman, has a 3.49 GPA and is majoring in mechanical engineering.

McNeill Hired At
St. Augustine’s

Daryl McNeill has been hired as the running back coach at St. Augustine’s. McNeill was fired as head football coach at Johnson C. Smith in February after four years. The Bulls were 7-3 in 2006 but back-to-back 3-7 seasons cost McNeill his job. McNeill was head football coach at Savannah State in 1997 and 1998. SSU went 7- 4 in 1998, their last winning season.

Grambling To
Induct 25 In Hall
of Fame

On July 18, 2009 the first group of 25 legends will be inducted into the Grambling Legends Sports Hall of Fame at the Monroe Civic Center in Monroe, Louisiana.

The 25 inductees are Willis Reed (Basketball), Tommy Agee (Baseball), Ernie Ladd (Football/Wrestling), Henry Dyer (Football), Ralph Garr (Baseball), Charlie Hardnett (Basketball), Robert Hopkins (Basketball), Lane Howell (Football), Stone Johnson (Football/Track), Willie Joseph (Football), Leglian “Boots” Moore (Football), Bo Murray (Football), Helen Richards- Smith (Basketball), Richard Stebbins (Track), Hershell West (Basketball), Willie Young (Football), Tank Younger (Football), Ralph W.E. Jones (College President and Coach), Eddie G. Robinson (Coach), Collie Nicholson (Sports Information Officer), Fred C. Hobdy (Coach), Willie Brown (Football), Buck Buchanan (Football), Willie Davis (Football) and Charlie Joiner (Football).

The induction ceremonies will also be broadcast live and will be available to fans and alumni worldwide on Pay per View. For details visit www.gramblingsportshof. com .

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.