Sports with Walter Moore


Walter Moore

Tigers Do Well At Osprey Challenge

The Savannah State track team won three events at the North Florida Osprey Challenge on April 17 in Jacksonville,FL. The men’s and women’s 4x400m relay team won first place and Eric Plump won the men’s 200m race. SSU assistant track coach Raphel Martin won the men’s long jump as an unattached competitor. Savannah State placed in the top ten in 25 events including three second place finishes and four third place finishes.

A&T Baseball Sweeps Savannah State

North Carolina A&T stopped Savannah State’s eight game winning streak with a threegame sweep over the Tigers in Greensboro, N.C. The Aggies won 11-4 and 14-2 on April 18 and completed the sweep with a 12-5 victory on April 19. SSU (23-19) edged Edward Waters 4- 3 at Tiger Field on April 13, defeated The Citadel 6-2 in Charleston, S.C. on April 14 and pounded Claflin 17-3 on April 15 in Greenville, S.C.

Taylor Shows Versatility In Spring Game

Javares Taylor showed just how versatile he is during Savannah State’s spring football game at T.A. Wright Stadium on April 18. Taylor had 234 yards of offense as he passed for 143 yards and a touchdown, ran for 62 yards and caught five passes for 29 yards and a touchdown. Quarterback A.J. DeFilippis threw for 270 yards and a pair of touchdowns while Savannah High grad Byron Leggett caught seven passes for 170 yards and a 57 yard touchdown. Justin Babb ran for a game-high 91 yards. Deleon Hollinger caught a touchdown for 23 yards. Patrick Thomas led the defense with seven tackles. The offense won 23-0.

SSU Holds Athletics Banquet

Savannah State honored its student athletes on April 16 with the annual athletics banquet held in Tiger Arena. Earning athletic awards were:

BASEBALL Robert Ramsdale (Pitcher of the Year), Andrew Mendez (Most Valuable Player) and David Washington (Teammate of the Year);

MEN’S BASKETBALL Chris Linton (Co- Most Valuable Player) and Raye Bailey (Co-Most Valuable Player);

WOMEN’S BASKETBALL Lashara Smith (Most Valuable Player);

FOOTBALL Deleon Hollinger (Coca-Cola Golden Helmet Offensive Player of the Year), Derek Williams (Special Teams Player of the Year) and Darren Hunter (Defensive Player of the Year);

WOMEN’S GOLF- Vonetta Epps (Most Valuable Golfer);

SOFTBALL- Kystle Frost (Pitcher of the Year), Tiffany Taylor (Co-Most Valuable Player) and Brittany Wilson (Co-Most Valuable Player);

TENNIS- Shawannda McClain (Most Valuable Player);

MEN’S TRACKEric Plump (Most Outstanding Sprinter), Tyrone McCoy (Most Outstanding Distance Runner) and Chris Blount (Most Outstanding in Field Events);

WOMEN’S TRACK- Amara Jones (Most Outstanding Sprinter), Sadie Sellow (Most Outstanding Distance Runner) and Sharonda Redfield (Most Outstanding in Field Events);

VOLLEYBALL- Kari Parker (Co-Most Valuable Player) and April Hayes (Co- Most Valuable Player).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.