Savannah’s 100 Celebrity “Cook-off” A HUGE Success


The Twelfth Annual Savannah’s 100 Celebrity Men Who Cook event was a great success. Ahuge crowed packed the Savannah Marriott Riverfront Ballroom on Sunday, December 11, 2011- 3:00P.M.- 5:00P.M., where cooks from throughout the area showed off their prize dishes.

Approximately 100 celebrity chefs had to “step-upto the-plate” for some topnotched tasters this year. Most of the 600 plus guests return each year because they enjoy tasting the ethnic dishes as well as their favorites. They also look forward to seeing the camaraderie and competitive spirit of the cooks. Winners of this year’s Cook-off in the various categories are: Desserts: 1st Place – Steve Bellmoff; 2nd Place – Dr. Carlton Middleton; 3rd Place- Bobby Roberts, Jr. Appetizers: 1st Place – John Feagin; 2nd Place –Miles, Davis, Strickland Team; 3rd Place – Dr. Thomas Lockamy Casseroles: 1st Place –Chef Puff (Shawntray Grant); 2nd Place – Detric Leggett; 3rd Place –Dr. Joe Buck Vegetables: 1st Place – Paul Mosley; 2nd Place – Van Johnson Salads: 1st Place – Thomas Owens; 2nd Place – LaMont Williams Gumbo: 1st Place – Aaron James; 2nd Place – Lawrence Hutchins, Jr.; 3rd Place – Tony Wright, Sr. Poultry: 1st Place- Thad Hodges; 2nd Place- Mr. Little John; 3rd Place- Billy Benjamin Meat: 1st Place – Charlie Williams; 2nd Place- Carl Davis; 3rd Place- Jim Patterson.

All proceeds from the event will benefit the United Negro College Fund (UNCF), the nation’s oldest and most successful minority education assistance organization.Alpha Kappa Alpha, Delta Sigma Theta, Sigma Gamma Rho, and Zeta Phi Beta Sororities, sponsors of “Savannah’s 100 Celebrity Men Who Cook,” extend sincere thanks to all participants of this annual event and to the local media for the exceptional coverage. A special “Thank You” goes to WTOCTVfor interviews with all of the chefs and ongoing, in-depth onair coverage of this event.

We are forever grateful to our dedicated patrons and the entire community for helping to make this event a success every year.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.