Savannah Technical College Named TCSG Technical College Of The Year

TCSG State Board Chair Lynn Cornett, Savannah Technical College President Kathy Love and TCSG Commissioner Ron Jackson
TCSG State Board Chair Lynn Cornett, Savannah Technical College President Kathy Love and TCSG Commissioner Ron Jackson

The State Board of the Technical College System of Georgia recently announced that its members have chosen Savannah Technical College as their 2013 college of the year. Dr. Lynn Cornett, chair of the TCSG board, presented Savannah Technical College President Kathy Love with the Perdue Award for the TCSG Technical College of the Year during the board’s monthly meeting in Atlanta. “The presentation of the college of the year award to Savannah Technical College is the highest honor that the TCSG State Board can give to one of our 24 colleges,” said Cornett. “Dr. Love and the faculty and staff of Savannah Technical College are to be congratulated for their strong focus on serving their students, changing lives, and building a better workforce for the coastal Georgia region.”

Each year, the TCSG State Board evaluates the state technical colleges for the Perdue Award using almost two dozen performance categories, including enrollment in technical and adult education programs, student retention and graduation rates, licensure pass rates, economic development measures, national awards, and administrative efficiencies.

TCSG Commissioner Ron Jackson said that the award caps a banner year for Savannah Technical College, which also included the recent opening of a new Aviation Training Center. Savannah Technical College enrolled 7,380 students in credit classes during the past academic year, which was the seventh-largest enrollment in the TCSG. The college produced 1,611 graduates in certificate, diploma and degree programs during the year, which was six percent more than the previous year. In addition, nine in ten Savannah Technical College graduates who took their state licensure exams during the past academic year passed those tests.

The college also made efficient use of its state appropriation during fiscal year 2013 by keeping the cost per full-time equivalent (FTE) almost the same as the previous year despite rising costs and without reducing student access to instructional programs, classrooms and state-of-the-art technology. The TCSG College of the Year Award is named in honor of former Governor Sonny Perdue, who was a strong supporter of Georgia’s technical colleges and their mission to develop the state’s workforce through world-class technical and adult education programs.

For more information about the TCSG and links to a technical college in your area, go to

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.