Savannah State University Alumni Attend 31st Legislative Conference

Savannah State University alumni and State Senator Lester Jackson.
Savannah State University alumni and State Senator Lester Jackson.

On January 26-27 2016 alumni from Savannah State (SSU), Albany State (ASU) and Fort Valley State (FVSU) Universities met in Atlanta Ga. for the 31st Legislative Conference for Georgia Alumni Association of Historically Black State Universities (GAAHBSU). This year’s conference was hosted by the Albany State University National Alumni Association (ASUNAA) and the theme was “Envisioning Our Future, Embracing Our Legacy and Expanding Our Horizons”.

During the conference, alumni met at the Ga. State Capitol with legislators representing their respective areas. This active engagement with the policy and decision makers aims to bring about effective dialogue which will assure the continued growth and equitable enhancement of each of these universities within the University System of Georgia.

Following the capitol visit, alumni met in general session to discuss and outline “Strategies for the Future”. This session was led by Atty. Joycia Ricks, President of ASUNAA.

A luncheon followed the general session where university presidents, staff and students from each university gathered to dine with alumni. During the luncheon, students from each university shared their high school student recruitment experiences. Each year students from each institution conduct recruitment fairs at several Atlanta high schools during the GAAHBSU Legislative Conference. Recruitment fairs were conducted at 10 Atlanta high schools and students reported very favorable outcomes.

Through the course of history at SSU, ASU and FVSU, alumni and other supporters have met to assure the continued existence, growth and advancement of these three (3) unique higher educational institutions. In 1982 a collective mechanism was created to generate support for the institutions. This mechanism evolved into the Tri College Alumni Group and the purpose was to bring alumni from each institution together in January as a unified group for an annual Legislative Conference during the Georgia General Assembly. The name was changed in 1986.

Roy L. Jackson is Chairman of the GAAHBSU Executive Committee and Clyde Newton is President of SSU National Alumni Association.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.