Savannah State Accepts Nominations For Founders Day Awards

Each year, Savannah State University (SSU) celebrates Founders Day, a commemoration of those who established the school and a celebration of the members of the SSU family. SSU is currently accepting nominations for two awards to be presented during Founders Day on November 10, 2016.

The Richard R Wright Excellence award, named for the first president, honors corporate or individual citizens, alumni and outstanding leaders, who have distinguished themselves through their expertise in social, educational and civic arenas. The Cyrus G Wiley Distinguished Alumni Award recognizes outstanding alumni who exemplify the lofty ideals of SSU and demonstrate extraordinary support and loyalty to the university. Nominations will be accepted until October 14. More information is available at aspx or call 912-358- 3059.

Established in 1890, Savannah State University is the oldest public historically black college or university in Georgia and the oldest institution of higher learning in the city of Savannah. The university’s 4,800 students select majors from 30 undergraduate and five graduate programs in three colleges — Liberal Arts and Social Sciences, Business

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.