Savannah Metropolitan Planning Commission New Members Sworn In


Savannah Metropolitan Planning Commission were sworn in on October 13 by The Honorable Judge Timothy R. Walmsley.

Tanya Milton is the new Chair filling the seat vacated by Shedrick Coleman who finish a two year term. Milton, Vice President and Advertising Director with the Savannah Tribune was appointed to the Planning Commission by the Mayor and Alderman in 2009. She previously held the office of Treasurer and Vice-chair.

W. James Overton is the Vice-chair. Overton was appointed to the Planning Commission by the Chatham County Commissioners in 2012. Prior to his election as Vice-chair he served as Secretary. In addition to the Planning Commission, he also serves on the Chatham County Zoning Board of Appeals and is a retired real estate executive.

Joseph Welch was re-elected as Treasurer and will serve as Chair of the Budget and Finance Committee. Welch was appointed to the Planning Commission 2008 and previously served as Treasurer. Welch is Sales Manager at J.C. Lewis Ford. He also serves as member of the Savannah Quarterback Club and member of the Savannah St. Patrick’s Day Parade Committee.

George L. Woods III is the Secretary. He was appointed to the Planning Commission in 2015 and is Co-Founder and Vice-President of Lifecycle Construction Services specializing in Federal contracting.

Coleman is the only outgoing officer. His service included two twoyear terms as Chair and also serves as Director at Large – Focused on the American Planning Commission Board. Coleman is the Principal in SHEDDarchitecture, a local architectural design firm.

The Chatham County-Savannah Metropolitan Planning Commission was created in 1957 pursuant to legislation enacted by the Georgia General Assembly which permits joint city-county planning commissions. The Board consists of 14 members. Six members are appointed by the Board of Commissioners of Chatham County and six members are appointed by the Mayor and Aldermen of the City of Savannah. The Savannah City Manager and the Chatham County Manager serve as ex officio members of the Board. Appointed members are volunteers, who serve three year overlapping terms without pay.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.