Savannah Branch NAACP Holds 38th Annual Freedom Awards Banquet


The Savannah Branch NAACP will hold its 38th Annual Freedom Awards Banquet at the Savannah Marriott Riverfront Hotel on Saturday, October 19, 2019 beginning at 7 p.m.

The Awards Ceremony is an integral aspect of the Branch celebration where persons and institutions from the community are honored for their contributions to the mission and principle objectives of the NAACP.

Tickets may be purchased by contacting the Savannah Branch Office at 912-233-4161.

The Esther F. Garrison Education & Volunteerism Award will be presented to Mrs. Virginia Edwards Maynor, (retired) Educator and Superintendent of the Savannah Chatham

County Public School System. This award honors persons who have made a significant contribution to education, and who have improved their community by volunteering their time, talents and resources.

The Gilbert, Law, Cooper Leadership Award will be presented to Dr. Sandra McCord Best, (retired) Assistant Vice President of Human Resources for Savannah State University and community liaison. This award honors those with an established history of distinguished service and making a lasting contribution to the NAACP and their community, exhibiting leadership and providing inspiration to our youth.


The President’ Lifetime Achievement Award will be presented to Mr. Michael deVegter, Real Estate Developer/CEO/ Consultant. This award honors individuals with an established history of distinguished community service, and who has made a lasting contribution to their community. It honors those who have made a contribution in the area of human and race relations.

The Trail Blazer Award will be presented to Mrs. Shirley Barber James, publisher and retired editor of the Savannah Tribune, one of the nation’s oldest African American-owned weekly newspapers. This award recognizes a unique contribution made to enhance or promote equality in the community with their talents or facilities and affect the future work of the NAACP through the use of electronic or print mediums.

The Legacy Award will be presented to St. Matthews Episcopal Church (Father Guillermo Arboleda, Pastor) and Connor’s Temple Baptist Church (Deacon Charles Johnson, Chair – Deacon Board). Recipients of this award are institutions or individuals providing access to facilities and resources to the Savannah Branch NAACP during the Civil Rights Movement and beyond.

1 thought on “Savannah Branch NAACP Holds 38th Annual Freedom Awards Banquet”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.