Savannah Branch NAACP 38th Annual Freedom Fund Banquet Held


The Savannah Branch NAACP held their 38th Annual Freedom Fund Banquet last Saturday, October 19, 2019 at the Marriott Savannah Riverfront. Mr. Richard Shinhoster and Attorney Chad Mance presided over the program.

With over 500 in attendance, Rev. Jai Haithco, Sr. gave the invocation. Presentations were made to the 2019 Honorees. Mrs Mary Shank presented the Esther F. Garrison Education and Volunteerism Award to Mrs. Virginia Edwards Maynor; Mr. Lee A. McCord presented to his sister, Dr. Sandra Mc- Cord Best, the Gilbert, Law Cooper Leadership Award; Mr. John Finney presented the President’s Lifetime Achievement Award to Mr. Michael deVegter; Mr. Van R. Johnson, II presented the Trail Blazer Award to Mrs. Shirley Barber James and Bishop Willie Ferrell presented the Savannah Branch Legacy Awards to St. Matthews Episcopal Church, Father Guillermo Arboleda, Pastor and Connor’s Temple Baptist Church, Mr. Charles Johnson, Chairman, Deacon Board. Mr. Al J. Scott, President, Savannah Branch NAACP recognized and presented Life Member Certificates and made closing remarks. Rev. Dr. Bobby W. Jones, Pastor Thankful Baptist Church gave the benediction.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.