Savannah Area Tourism Leadership Council Holds Annual Dinner

Stratton and Mary Leopold Received the Herb and Franklin R Traub Visionary Award
Stratton and Mary Leopold Received the Herb and Franklin R Traub Visionary Award

The Savannah Area Tourism Leadership Council presented several major awards and three scholarships at the 12th Annual Tourism Awards & Scholarship Dinner presented by Georgia Power, which was held at the Hilton Savannah DeSoto on February 11, 2010.

Steve Green of Stephen Green Properties, Inc. received the John P. Rousakis Community Champion Award. The award, which is named in memory of former Savannah mayor John Rousakis, is given to an individual responsible for supporting tourism and promoting Savannah.

Stratton and Mary Leopold received the Herb and Franklin Traub Visionary Award as a team. This award is given to someone who consistently works to promote tourism growth, recognizes and nurtures the potential of new projects for Savannah and creates awareness for the city. The award is named in memory of Herb Traub, the former and late owner of The Pirates’ House, and his late wife, Franklin, both of whom were actively involved in the hospitality industry for many years.

Jody McIntyre of the Savannah Marriott Riverfront earned the TLC Member of the Year Award, which is presented to a member who has demonstrated consistent dedication to the organization.

Kathy Massey of Savor Savannah Catering by SMG (exclusive caterer for the Savannah International Trade & Convention Center), received the Service Leader Award. The TLC Service Star Award was presented to Maybelle Monroe of the Hyatt Regency Savannah. Both service awards recognize exemplary job performance in the hospitality industry.

Each year, the TLC is proud to present scholarships to students pursuing hospitality careers. To date, the TLC has given in excess of $44,000 in scholarships to area students. This year, three $1,000 scholarships were presented at the event. They were given to Meredith Brewer of the University of South Carolina – Beaufort, Benita McIver Milligan of Savannah Technical College and Stephanie Thompson of Georgia Southern University. “Developing the workforce for our industry needs to start at a young age. Through the TLC Scholarship program, we are able to contribute to the education of several very deserving students,” said Barrow. “We are very proud of them and look forward to their future contributions to the area’s growing hospitality industry.”

For more information about the organization, please visit www.tourismleadershipcouncil. com or call 912-232-1223.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.