Presidential Inaugural Committee Announces Honorary Co-Chairs

President-elect Barack Obama
President-elect Barack Obama

Bipartisan Collection of Distinguished Americans to Help Lead Inaugural Activities

WASHINGTON, D.C. – The 2009 Presidential Inaugural Committee announced the honorary co-chairs for the Inauguration of Presidentelect Barack Obama and Vice President-elect Joe Biden.

In keeping with the President-elect’s commitment to an inclusive and bipartisan Inauguration, the list of honorary co-chairs includes members of the President-elect and Vice President-elect’s immediate families as well as prominent Americans from both sides of the aisle who have dedicated their lives to selfless service to their fellow citizens.

“Vice President-elect Biden and I are grateful to these distinguished men and women for agreeing to serve as Honorary Co-Chairs for the Inauguration,” said Presidentelect Obama. “From family members to former Presidents, each of these leaders has an unwavering commitment to bipartisan cooperation and a proud record of service to their community and our country. They exemplify the spirit of unity and shared purpose this Inauguration will reflect.”

The Honorary Co- Chairs for the 2009 Presidential Inauguration are: President Jimmy Carter, President George H. W. Bush, President William J. Clinton, Mayor Adrian Fenty, Senator Dick Durbin, Senator Dick Lugar, Senator Claire McCaskill, Representative Tammy Baldwin, Representative Artur Davis, Representative Ray Lahood, Representative Linda Sánchez, General Colin Powell, Hunter and Kathleen Biden, Craig Robinson, and Dr. Maya Soetoro-Ng.

For the latest information on the 2009 Presidential Inauguration, please visit

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.