New Savannah Mayor and Council To Be Sworn In

Following a historic election in which City of Savannah voters elected seven new councilmembers and a new mayor, the City will host a public inaugural ceremony and celebration at the Johnny Mercer Theater on Thursday, Jan. 2, 2020 at 6:30 p.m. The ceremony will include a musical prelude from the Savannah Philharmonic and is open to the public.

Mayor-elect Van Johnson, along with Alderwomen at-large, Kesha Gibson-Carter and Alicia Miller Blakely, and district Aldermen and Alderwomen, Bernetta Lanier, Detric Leggett, Linda Wilder-Bryan, Nick Palumbo, Dr. Estella Shabazz and Kurtis Purtee, will officially be sworn-in for four-year terms.

In addition, following his inauguration, Mayor-elect Johnson will deliver remarks highlighting his vision for the future of Savannah. Johnson is expected to share a positive vision of a united Savannah focused on listening to and involving all aspects of our community. “It’s a new day in the City of Savannah,” shared Johnson. “I’m excited about all we can accomplish over the course of this next administration with a team of folks who truly care about all the people who call Savannah home.”

For more information on the inaugural event, please contact the City of Savannah’s Office of Public Communications at 912- 651-6410.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.