New members join Step Up Savannah’s Board of Directors

Six new members were voted in by the board of directors at a recent Step Up Savannah board meeting.

The new members replace those who served oneyear terms in Step Up’s first year as non-profit corporation. New members will serve three year terms as called for in the organization’s by-laws. Board members also voted in officers for the new year.

New board members include:Bernetta Anderson, Hudson Hill Neighborhood Association Leon Burton, Curtis V. Cooper Primary Health Care Elder Willie Ferrell, Royal Church of Christ Alethea Frazier Raynor, African American Male Achievement, Inc. The Rev. James Nelson, Holy Spirit Lutheran Church John Wills, Consumer Credit Counseling Services.

2010 Step Up Savannah officers: Sr. Pat Baber, St. Mary’s Community Center, board chair; Robert James, Carver State Bank, vice chair; William Oakley, Goodwill Industries, secretary/treasurer. Jim Stevenson, community volunteer, is immediate pastchair.

Current members include: Maria Elena Bowden,Yvonnia Brown, Earline Wesley Davis, Micheal Elliott, Deborah Goldwire, Stephanie Gray, Cathy Hill, Bill Hubbard, Robert James, Mayor Otis Johnson, Cherith Jones, County Chairman Pete Liakakis, Thomas Lockamy, William Oakley, Pamela Oglesby, Millie Rivers, Gregg Schroeder, Rochelle Small- Toney, Jim Stevenson, Tyrone Ware, Charles Wilhite, Rick Winger

Step Up Savannah, Inc. incorporated as a non-profit in 2009 and continues its work through action teams focused on workforce development and adult education, wealth building and work supports.

It also oversees Chatham County’s Construction Apprentice Program, and partners with the City to run the “Bank On Savannah” campaign.

For more information, visit Step Up’s Web site:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.