Mungin-Miller Second Biennial Family Reunion

Pictured (L-R): Charlie Mungin, Estella Mells, L. Alyce M. Ingram, and Lillie Watts
Pictured (L-R): Charlie Mungin, Estella Mells, L. Alyce M. Ingram, and Lillie Watts

Over seventy descendants and family members of Abraham Christborough Mungin and Lydia Miller Mungin met in Savannah on July 10-12 for their Second Biennial Reunion. Family members began arriving Friday afternoon from various cities in California, Massachusetts, Alabama, Florida, Washington DC, Virginia and Georgia.

The Reunion Committee hosted a “Meet and Greet” on Friday evening at the Holiday Inn in Midtown. After a delicious southern buffet meal, members spent the remainder of the evening visiting, sharing stories and pictures and catching up on events that have occurred since the last reunion.

At the Business Meeting on Saturday morning, the following officers were elected to serve for the next two years: President – Lydia M. Harris; Vice President – Phyllis Perry; Recording Secretary – Shirlean Barber; Assistant Secretary – Terry Willis; Financial Secretary – Marion M. Howard; Treasurer – Rose P. Arkwright; and Historian – Byllye Y. R. Avery. Many family members were recognized for academic achievements, retirements and for “special” milestone birthdays. After the meeting, the group dispersed for an afternoon of leisure to shop, sightsee and tour the city.

Carey Hilliard’s Restaurant on Abercorn was the site for Saturday evening’s dinner. The theme for the festivities was “In Celebration of Us”. The family took pleasure in the talents of many members. There were skits, songs, and anecdotes to entertain and enjoy.

The highlight was a tribute to our ancestors. At the end of the evening, we honored two centenarians, L. Alyce M. Ingram (101 yrs) and Estella Mells (100 yrs) and recognized other members who are “80 years old and beyond”.

We were blessed to have Lillie Watts, Rose Arkwright and Charlie Mungin, all beyond 80. On Sunday morning the family received a royal welcome from Pastor Edward Ellis, Jr. and the congregation at Historic First Bryan Baptist Church.

The 2009 Reunion Committee was co-chaired by Byllye Avery and Marion Howard. Committee members were Sonya Avery, Mary Lou Hall and Shirley (Joyce) Taylor.

The family looks forward to our 2011 Reunion which will be on a Summer Cruise to the Bahamas in celebration of our fifth year anniversary.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.