MUMC Team Member Named Pharmacist of the Year

Ken Jozefczyk
Ken Jozefczyk

Ken Jozefczyk, M.S., R.Ph., FASHP, director of pharmacy at Memorial University Medical Center (MUMC), has been named the 2009 Pharmacist of the Year by The Georgia Society of Health-System Pharmacists (GSHP).

This award is the highest honor GSHP can bestow on any member. Jozefczyk was honored for his outstanding service and his participation in GSHP.

Jozefczyk’s accomplishments include helping to improve medication management and medication safety, including leading the initiative to address medication reconciliation by reorganizing pharmacy work flow at MUMC. He also established a Medication Safety Committee that reviews all facets of medication management and identifies opportunities for improvement in patient safety.

Jozefczyk is currently the co-chair of GSHP’s public relations committee and also served as the GSHP southeastern district director.

He holds an adjunct faculty appointment to the University of Georgia College of Pharmacy and instructs students and residents at MUMC. He is a past president of the West Virginia Society of Health System Pharmacists and a fellow of the American Association of Health System Pharmacists.

Georgia Society of Health-System Pharmacists is a professional society of pharmacists and related personnel practicing in organized healthcare settings.

Memorial University Medical Center is a two-state healthcare organization serving a 35-county area in southeast Georgia and southern South Carolina. The system includes its flagship hospital, a 530-bed academic medical center; Memorial primary and specialty care physician networks; a major medical education program; business and industry services; and NurseOne, a 24-hour call center.

Visit our Web site at

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.