Judge Louisa Abbot Serves As President Of The Council Of Superior Court Judges Of Georgia

Judge Julia Abbot
Judge Julia Abbot

Superior Court Judge Louisa Abbot, Eastern Judicial Circuit, Savannah, will become President of the Council of Superior Court Judges on May 1, 2013. Her term of office and those of Council President-Elect Judge Mary Staley, Cobb Judicial Circuit, Marietta, and Secretary-Treasurer Judge Brenda S. Weaver, Appalachian Judicial Circuit, Jasper, run from May 1, 2013 to April 30, 2014.

Judge Louisa Abbot is currently serving as Judge of Superior Court of Chatham County, Eastern Judicial Circuit, having been appointed to that position in October 2000 and elected in 2002, 2006 and 2010. She is a graduate of Augusta State University (1979, magna cum laude) and the University of Georgia Law School (1982, summa cum laude) where she was inducted into the Order of the Coif.

Judge Abbot is pastpresident of the Savannah Bar Association and past-president of the Georgia Bar Foundation. She served 6 years on the Georgia Commission on Dispute Resolution.

Judge Abbot has been on the Georgia Child Support Commission since its creation. She has served as Chairperson of the Uniform Rules Committee of the Council of Superior Court Judges for the past 4 years. Judge Abbot recently was appointed chairperson of the Georgia Child Support Commission by Governor Nathan Deal.

Among the honors Judge Abbot has received are the Joseph T. Tuggle, Jr. Professionalism Award presented by the State Bar Family Law Section and the Justice Robert Benham Award for Community Service. She is a graduate of the Leadership Georgia Class of 2002. She was the first woman president of the President of the Rotary Club of Savannah, then in its 95th year since founding and has served on the boards of many community organizations, both local and statewide. She is a member of First Presbyterian Church where she has been an elder and taught Sunday School for 20 years. Judge Abbot is married to Gil Stacy, an attorney practicing with the Circuit Public Defender’s Office in Chatham County, and has two children.

The Council of Superior Court Judges is composed of the state’s 207 superior court judges and over 70 senior (retired) superior court judges. It was established by the state legislature in 1985 to further the improvement of the superior courts and the administration of justice in Georgia. The Council seeks to identify and propose solutions to problems common to all judges and has adopted strategic planning to identify and pursue operational goals. Duties of the Council include state superior court judges’ budget development and administration; initiating and responding to legislative issues involving the Superior Court; adoption of uniform court rules; preparation of bench publications, including jury charge instructions and benchbooks; and certification of continuing judicial education.

The newly elected officers, immediate pastpresident, and administrative judges representing each of the ten judicial administrative districts in Georgia comprise the Council of Superior Court Judges’ executive committee, which is authorized to manage the projects and policies of the council. They also serve on the Judicial Council of Georgia with representatives of the other courts in the state setting policy for the judiciary. The Council’s central office is located in Atlanta.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.