JEA’s 105th Annual Meeting To Honor Community Members

The 105th Annual Meeting of the Jewish Educational Alliance will be held on Wednesday, May 24 at 7:00 pm. Joel Greenberg will be stepping down after having served two years as President of the organization; Scott Samuels, who was President from 2009- 2011, will be installed as President for a one-year term. Other executives to be installed are Robyn Carroll as President-Elect and Margie Levy as Secretary/Treasurer. Levy will be replacing Gale Hirsh, who admirably served in that position for the past four years.

Also to be recognized at the meeting for their service to the community on the JEA’s Board are retiring Board members Michelle Allan, who fulfilled the maximum number of terms allowed; Sam Carroll, Ricky Friedenberg and Suzanne Konter.

The meeting will feature the presentation of the JEA Community Service Award to Tom Kohler, recognized for being a tireless advocate for those in need. The Henry Center College Scholarship presented by Miriam and Tony Center will be presented to Emma Loncon and the Kay Becker Israel Scholarship, presented by Alan Lowe, to Tomer Locker. There will be additional President’s Awards presented to Jason Rich and Harold Yellin, two individuals in the community that have shown true dedication to the JEA and the Savannah Jewish community.

This is a free event, open to the community at the Jewish Educational Alliance, 5111 Abercorn St. Savannah, with the meeting beginning at 7:00 p.m.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.