Inauguration for Savannah City Council Set for January 3

Mayor Elect Edna Jackson
Mayor Elect Edna Jackson

The City of Savannah will hold an Inauguration Ceremony for the Savannah City Council on Tuesday, January 3, 2012, at the Savannah Civic Center. Elected officials from each district will be sworn in to each seat. Officials include Mayor Elect Edna Jackson, Alderman at Large Post 1, Carol Bell, Alderman at Large Post 2 Tom Bordeaux, District 1 Alderman Van Johnson, District 2 Alderman Mary Osborne, District 3 Alderman John Hall, District 4 Alderman Mary Ellen Sprague, District 5 Alderman Estella Edwards Shabazz and District 6 Alderman Tony Thomas.

A reception will follow the ceremony in the Civic Center Mezzanine and Ballroom. The dress is black tie optional.

Savannah’s government became a council/manager form of government in 1954. The city council consists of the mayor and eight aldermen, six of which are elected from one of six aldermanic districts, with each district electing one member. The other two members and the mayor are elected at-large.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.