Georgia Hospital Association Honors 2016 Hospital Heroes


On Nov. 11, 2016, the Georgia Hospital Association (GHA) presented its annual Hospital Hero Awards at the association’s Annual Meeting held in Savannah. Recipients of the award were recognized for their outstanding contributions to the health care field. GHA Chairman Steve Gautney and GHA President and CEO Earl Rogers presented the prestigious awards to eight Hospital Hero winners, two Physician Hero winners, and one Lifetime Heroic Achievement Winner, H. Kenneth Walker, M.D. of Grady Memorial Hospital in Atlanta.

The 2016 Hospital Hero Award winners are:

Avril Beckford, M.D., of WellStar Health System in Marietta (Physician Hero) · Mac Bowman, M.D., of University Health Care System in Augusta (Physician Hero) · Della Dean, RN, of Piedmont Newnan Hospital · Mike Fordham of Dodge County Hospital in Eastman · Leah Henderson, RNC-OB, of Piedmont Atlanta Hospital · Williams James of Redmond Regional Medical Center · Jennifer Phillips of Rockdale Medical Center in Conyers · Milton “Butch” Rathbun, RN of Dorminy Medical Center in Fitzgerald · Alex Shivers, LMSW, of Colquitt Regional Medical Center in Moultrie · Robert (Bob) Wilson of DeKalb Medical in Decatur

“These winners represent some of the finest health care professionals in the entire state of Georgia,” said GHA President and CEO Earl Rogers. “We applaud their tremendous efforts and their daily dedication to their hospitals and communities. They are truly deserving of these Hospital Hero awards.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.