Georgia Funeral Service Practitioner’s Association to Convene

Ronald Nixon
Ronald Nixon

The Georgia Funeral Service Practitioners Association, Inc. (GFSPA) will hold its 84th annual convention and exhibition May 10-13th, 2009 at the Savannah Civic Center in Savannah, Georgia.

Conveners will engage in meetings and sessions offering quality continuing education on topics of interest to funeral service professionals.

The exhibition will provide suppliers an opportunity to showcase funeral supplies, services and other business marketing ideas.

In addition, the convention will offer attendees the opportunity to share, network and learn from funeral professionals from around the state and southeast.

GFSPA, lead by president, David Hurt, will honor Mr. Ronald Nixon, 4th District, as Mortician of the year, among other award recipients, at the annual awards banquet.

Others nominated for Mortician of the Year included Frank Sherman, Jr., 1st District, Bruce Huff, 3rd District, James Kay, 6th District, Hope L. Iglehart, 7th District, Dana L. Lemon, 9th District.

In the year of 1925, Mr. Robert R. Reed of Illinois, the organizer of the National Negro Funeral Directors Association, visited the State of Georgia with the idea of organizing the Negro funeral homes of Georgia into a state association.

The Georgia Association, which was founded in 1926, comprised of licensed Funeral Directors and Embalmers throughout the state.

Georgia is, therefore, one of the charter members of the present National Association (specifically, National Funeral Directors and Mortician Association).

The original name of the Association was The Georgia Colored Funeral Directors and Embalmers Association.

In 1939, the name was changed to the present name, The Georgia Funeral Service Practitioners Association.

The Association was incorporated in July 1959 as a non-profit corporation. There are nine districts in the state of Georgia. The First District, the host of the 84th Annual State Convention is comprised of funeral homes and funeral professionals in Burke, Bulloch, Candler, Chatham, Effingham, Emanuel, Evans, Jenkins, Liberty, Screven and Toombs counties.

Officers of the First District Georgia Funeral Service Practitioners, Inc. are E. Bruce Adams, Chairman; Y’Lonne Hodges, Vice Chairman; Jarvis Barnes, Secretary; and Al Mullice, Treasurer.

For more information about attending and exhibiting please contact convention chairperson, Ernest Cloud, Jr. at or visit website,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.