Duke Wins Fifth NCAA Men’s Basketball Championship

The Blue Devils won the NCAA men’s basketball championship in a thrilling title contest on Monday, April 6th in Indianapolis, defeating a tough Wisconsin team 68-63.

Duke freshmen guards Tyus Jones and Grayson Allen led the Blue Devils with 23 and 16 points, respectively. National freshman of the year Jahlil Okafor had 10 points despite spending most of the second half on the bench. Duke’s fourth prized freshman Justise Winslow scored 11 points.

“My team had great grit and determination. Our defense down the stretch was magnificent.,” said Duke head coach Mike Krzyzewski. “I don’t know how you can be any better than we were down the stretch.”

Jones had 19 points in the second half as the Blue Devil guards got more aggressive in driving to the basket. Duke ended up with 10 more points from the free throw line even after Wisconsin only committed two fouls in the first half. With the Duke guards dribbling hard into the lane more, the Badgers had 13 second-half fouls.

The national title is the fifth for Duke Coach- Krzyzewski, moving him ahead of the late Adolph Rupp into second place among Division I men’s coaches. It is also the fifth for the Duke program, tying it with Indiana and North Carolina for third most NCAA championships.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.