Connor’s Temple Celebrates 84th Church Anniversary

“To God Be The Glory For The Things He Has Done.” In January 1927 a small group of Christian brethren and sisters met with Rev. Noah Cornelius Connor to discuss the organization of a church. With the intervention of the Holy Spirit, the group grew and on March 14, 1927, Connor’s Temple Baptist Church was founded with 83 members. Rev. Noah C. Connor, the Founder, led the congregation from 1927 until his death in 1949, for a total of 22 years.

On March 28, 1950, Rev. Willie Williams Whitehead was appointed the second pastor of Connor’s Temple Baptist Church. He continued the growth of the church and under his guidance many things were accomplished including the construction of the current edifice. Rev. Whitehead, the Builder, led the congregation from 1950 until 1973, for a total of 23 years.

The third pastor, Rev. Bennie Robert Mitchell, Jr., was called on January 8, 1974. He took the helm and continued the leadership journey of expanding the church’s ministry, vision and outreach. During his tenure the membership continued to grow, properties were acquired, and church and community outreach were expanded. Rev. Mitchell, the Visionary, led the congregation from 1974 until his recent death, for a total of 37 years.

During Connor’s Temple’s 84 years of existence, there have been only three Pastors. Therefore, we have much to celebrate and we invite the public to come out and celebrate with us March 15 thru 17, 2011, at 7:00 p.m. nightly and March 20, 2011 at 10:00 a.m. Services are as follows:

Tuesday, March 15, 2011, Pastor Wilson C. Scott and the Bethlehem Baptist Church congregation; Wednesday, March 16, 2011, the Tremont Temple Baptist Church congregation; Thursday, March 17, 2011, Rev. Matthew Southall Brown, Jr. and First Union Missionary Baptist Church congregation; Sunday, March 20, 2011, Rev. Thomas J. Sills and the Sweetfield of Eden Baptist Church congregation.

The church is located at 509 West Gwinnett Street. Dea. Charlie Hall, Chairman of Deacons;

Sis. Patricia Sutton, Church Anniversary Chairperson;

Sis. Beatrice Y. Mack, Coordinator.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.