Alfred E. Beach High School Recognized with the “Nobel Prize for Public Service”

Michael Henderson acccepts the Jefferson Award on behalf of Beach High School
Michael Henderson acccepts the Jefferson Award on behalf of Beach High School

In celebration of their extraordinary contributions to their school and their work within the community, one of the Student Leaders from Alfred E. Beach High School of Savannah, Georgia was honored this evening as the Savannah Recipient For Outstanding Service By a High School at a Washington, D.C. awards dinner.

In addition to Beach High School, 126 other Americans were recognized at the 38th annual Jefferson Awards, regarded as one of the nation’s highest honors for community service and volunteerism. Known as the “Nobel Prize for public service,” the awards are presented each year over two days of ceremonies in the nation’s capital where a broad array of honorees are recognized – from high-profile individuals who have dedicated the better part of their lives to public service to celebrated professional athletes to largely unheralded community-based volunteers. Beach High School was chosen for best exemplifying the program goals and expanding the volunteer capacity in their school.

This year’s National honorees include New York Mayor Michael Bloomberg, Newark Mayor Cory A. Booker, Partners in Health founder Paul Farmer, M.D., Goodwill Industries International President/CEO Jim Gibbons and Tad Skylar Agoglia, the founder of The First Response Team of America. Also recognized for their community involvement are two professional athletes: Oakland Raiders cornerback Nnamdi Asomugha and Charlotte Bobcats Tyrus Thomas.

“For almost four decades, the Jefferson Awards have celebrated the best in public service,” said Sam Beard, founder and president of the Jefferson Awards For Public Service. “While we have been pleased to honor many prominent individuals over the years who have given back selflessly to their communities and the world around them, we are particularly excited about honoring tonight these exceptional high school students because they are tomorrow’s national leaders. On behalf of the Jefferson Awards, a collective thanks and congratulations.”

The 2010 awards presentation took place at the Mayflower Hotel. It was hosted by Robert Sakowitz, who also is a Jefferson Awards board member.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.