A Record 92 Savannah State Student-Athletes Named To The SIAC All-Academic Team

A total of 92 Savannah State student-athletes have been named to the 2019-20 Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SIAC) Commissioner’s All-Academic Team, a record in the school’s modern history.

Within the SIAC, a record-high 1,355 student athletes were named to the Commissioner’s All-Academic Team for maintaining at least a 3.0 or better cumulative grade point average throughout the 2019- 20 academic year.

The number of student-athletes selected in each sport is determined by the number of positions usually involved in that sport. Forty-seven student-athletes from eight SIAC institutions recorded a 4.0 grade point average.

Savannah State football had 25 names added to the Commissioners All-Academic Team, while baseball had 19 players honored on the list. Ten runners from women’s track and field were named, while five from men’s track and field were also added. Six volleyball players, four women’s basketball players, seven men’s basketball players, five women’s tennis players and eight softball players were named.

Student- athletes with a 3.2 or higher were considered for all-academic team honors. In the all-academic team awards, SSU had four student-athletes named to the 2019-20 SIAC All-Academic Team for their respective sport.

From women’s tennis, Christy Turner, a junior Political Science major, was honored. From women’s track and field, Dannielle Chambers, a junior Biology major was named. Baseball’s Cameron Diaz, a sophomore Accounting major, was added to the list and softball’s Mikayla Smith, sophomore Biology major, was honored in the all-academic awards.

During Savannah State’s tenure within the Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC), on the NCAA Division I level, the most student-athletes to be named to the yearly MEAC All-Academic Team was 56.

The 2019-20 season was SSU’s first year of competition back in NCAA Division II and within the SIAC. The Tigers were a member of the SIAC originally from 1969-1981 as a Division III program and from 1981-2000 as a Division II program.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.