2017 SCCPSS District Teacher Of The Year Announced At Annual Gala

Amanda Hallman- Teacher Of The Year
Amanda Hallman- Teacher Of The Year

The annual Savannah Chatham County Public Schools Teacher of the Year Gala was held Thursday, February 11, 2016, at the Savannah International Trade and Convention Center. Fifty-four teachers were honored from nearly every school in the District and Amanda Hallman of West Chatham Elementary School was named the 2017 Teacher of the Year.

The five finalists, Amanda Hallman of West Chatham Elementary, Melissa McCoy of Jenkins High, Sheila Lamb-Lindblad of Bloomingdale Elementary, Mark Case of Oglethorpe Charter, and Angel Harlin of White Bluff Elementary, were honored with video biographies of their work and comments from students.

The night was filled with great excitement as all teachers received gift bags from sponsors who made donations, and heard from guest speakers including the Superintendent of Schools, Dr. Thomas B. Lockamy, Jr. One of the key highlights each year includes the keynote speech from the current Teacher of the Year. Ernie Lee of Windsor Forest High will continue to serve as the SCCPSS and Georgia State Teacher of the Year throughout the remainder of this school year. He provided an inspirational speech about his experience and the teaching profession.

As a representative of the many quality teachers across the Savannah Chatham County Public School System, the District’s Teacher of the Year is honored with the distinction of having the Flag of Learning and Liberty proudly displayed at their school. Amanda Hallman will also continue for consideration in the state-level Teacher of the Year program.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.