2009-2010 Youth Commission Members Sworn In

2009-2010 Chatham County Youth Commission
2009-2010 Chatham County Youth Commission

On September 11, the Honorable Pete Liakakis, Chairman of the Chatham County Commission gave the oath of office to 38 Chatham County Youth Commissioners, appointing them to serve as the representatives of youth of Chatham County.

22 of these young people are new candidates and 16 are returning for another term.

“These are among the best youth Chatham County has to offer,” said Van R. Johnson, II, Youth Commission Director. Johnson also said that it was significant that the Youth Commissioners were sworn in on September 11th, “on a day that we observe the very best examples of service and sacrifice.”

The Youth Commission was founded by Dr. Priscilla D. Thomas in 1992.

2009 summer activities included tours of the Savannah History Museum, Savannah College of Art and Design, Chatham Area Transit and attendance at the Chatham County Commission, Savannah- Chatham School Board and Savannah City Council meetings.

Since it’s inception, over 300 Chatham County youth have graduated from the program and are all over the country doing positive things and are active in the communities in which they live.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.