Gordon, Hapeville Wins Football Championship

Congratulations are in order for former Savannah State football standout Winston Gordon and his Hapeville Charter Hornets for winning the 2017 GHSA Class AA state football championship on December 16 with a 35-23 victory over Rabun County. Hapeville finished the season with a 14-1 record.

Gordon was one of seven former Savannah State players who served as a head coach at a GHSA school during the 2017 season. Others were Ulysses Hawthorne (Beach High), Edgar Carson (Lovejoy), Malik Battle (Mays), Michael Moore (New Hampstead), Greg Sullivan (Therrell) and David Robinson (Savannah High).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.